2012 Chairman’s Handicap – Final Field & Barriers

May 10th, 2012

The 2012 Chairman’s Handicap is due to take place at Doomben Racecourse this Saturday March 12, 2012.

13 horses have accepted for the 2012 Chairman’s Handicap, including Six O’Clock News.

The New Zealand galloper has won eight of his 52 race starts and has earned more than $550,000 in prize money.

The seven-year-old finished third in his most recent start in the Group 1 Auckland Cup at Ellerslie Racecourse on March 7, 2012.

The Zabeel gelding has multiple Group wins to his name and will be competing in the Australia for the second time in his horse racing career.

Six O’Clock News has drawn barrier 11 for the 2-12 Chairman’s Handicap and will be ridden by jockey Nash Rawiller.

Spechenka is also amongst the 2012 Chairman’s Handicap final field after finishing tenth in the Group 2 Hollindale Stakes last start.

The six-year-old gelding has won 11 of his 39 race starts and has earned more than $390,000 in prize money.

Despite not finishing better than tenth in his three starts this preparation, Spechenka will be out to make his comeback in the 2012 Chairman’s Handicap.

Ironstein and Shuffle The Cash are also included in the 2012 Chairman’s Handicap final field and barrier draw.

Open an account with our favourite Australian bookmaker bookmaker.com.au today in order to receive a bonus bet worth up to $300 when you sign up and enter our exclusive promo code BONUSBET.

Bookmaker.com.au offer the best odds on both horse racing and online sports betting, so make sure you open an account and get involved today.

With a fantastic winter carnival coming up, including the Group 1 Doomben Cup, you will want to be with the country’s best online bookmaker.

So sign up to bookmaker.com.au and start betting today!

2012 Chairman’s Handicap Final Field & Barrier Draw

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 609051103X SIX O’CLOCK NEWS (NZ) T Busuttin & N Young Nash Rawiller 11 58.5kg 104
2 055451X008 IRONSTEIN Gerald Ryan Josh Adams (a) 12 57.5kg 102
3 8070X35960 SHUFFLE THE CASH Bryan Guy Jim Byrne 13 54kg 94
4 309770X000 SPECHENKA Ben Ahrens Ryan Wiggins 6 54kg 93
5 X846433X88 COUNT ENCOSTA John P Thompson Jim Cassidy 3 54kg 90
6 1115X08X00 FANTASTIC BLUE Paul N Nolan Chris Munce 4 54kg 90
7 0712112X00 RUNDLE Kelly Purdy Timothy Bell (a) 10 54kg 90
8 9910X06359 WARRIOR WITHIN Bruce W Hill Paul Hammersley 1 54kg 90
9 45070904X0 HUME (NZ) Brian Smith Scott Galloway 5 54kg 89.5
10 5X1109X343 STREETS AWAY (NZ) Alan Bailey Glen Colless 8 54kg 88
11 0X67246117 DIAGO Liam Birchley Brad Stewart 7 54kg 85
12 8X64X260X5 HEAD NORTH Alan L Jones Jason Taylor 9 54kg 79
13 3123611682 MARKED Robert Heathcote Larry Cassidy 2 54kg 77.5