Chairman’s Handicap 2013 – Nominations Released

May 7th, 2013

Nominations have been released for the Group 3 Chairman’s Handicap, which is set to run at Eagle Farm Racecourse this Saturday May 11, 2013.

A total of 25 horses have nominated for the 2013 Chairman’s Handicap, including Rothera.

Rothera has won 13 of his 45 race starts and has earned more than $498,000 in prize money during his horse racing career.


Rothera is part of the 2013 Chairman's Handicap nominations. Picture by Taron Clarke.

The seven-year-old will be out to improve upon his eighth placing in the Listed Greenslopes Member’s Handicap at Eagle Farm on April 20, 2013, behind Transporter.

Rothera is trained at Eagle Farm by Brian Smith and will have the home track advantage in the 2013 Chairman’s Handicap.

The galloper’s latest win came two starts back when he won the $80,000 RAW Group Hospitality Handicap in Brisbane last November.

Also included in the 2013 Chairman’s Handicap nominations is Moriarty.

The Chris Waller-trained gelding has finished fifth in both his starts this campaign, with his most recent being in the Listed Wagga Wagga Gold Cup on May 3.

Moriarty has won seven of his 26 race starts and has earned more than $350,000 in prize money during his career.

The five-year-old was imported from Great Britain and has since won two Listed races, including the Gosford Cup.

He will be attempting to claim his first Group win in the 2013 Chairman’s Handicap this weekend.

Saint Encosta and Shenzhou Steeds are also included in the 2013 Chairman’s Handicap nominations.

Be sure to make the most of the Brisbane winter racing carnival by opening an account with today. offer all their customers the best odds on all the best races throughout the year.

New customers are eligible for a bonus bet worth up to $500 when they open an account and enter the promo code BONUSBET for a limited time only.

So don’t wait another minute, open an account with today and start winning today!

2013 Chairman’s Handicap Nominations

No. Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
1 ANAGOLD Bryan Guy 81
2 BANG ON Tony Gollan 80
3 BOREHOLE David J Lawlor 72
4 CARRICK (NZ) Tony Pike
5 DAZZLE US Bruce W Hill 80
6 DOLLY DOLLY (NZ) Brian Smith 89
7 GOLD CAPE John Wheeler
8 HOUR OF PERIL John P Thompson 90
9 I GOTTA FEELING (NZ) John Wheeler
11 MARGINS Ben Currie 91
12 MARKOUT Pat Richardson 79.5
13 MASTER AVATAR Gary Duncan 78
14 MORIARTY (IRE) Chris Waller
16 POSTE RESTANTE (NZ) Desleigh Forster 94
18 ROTHERA Brian Smith 99
19 SAINT ENCOSTA John P Thompson 91
20 SHENZHOU STEEDS (NZ) Michael Moroney
21 STRIKE THE STARS (NZ) Anthony Cummings
22 SYSMO (FR) Tony McEvoy
23 TOPPING Tony Gollan 92
24 VATUVEI Peter G Moody
25 ZENNISTA (NZ) Lisa Latta